starting strength gym

Thread: GGW Results and Moving Forward

Default GGW Results and Moving Forward

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    So I just finished Andy Baker's GGW yesterday. Even though Andy advises against it I decided to test my maxes all in one day for several reasons: my original maxes were tested this way, I'm studying for midterms in grad school, and I wanted to take the rest of the week off from lifting so I can get back to it next week. Overall I'm happy with the progress I've made as I haven't been taking recovery super serious and I improved all my lifts even the press which I trained only once a week for the majority of the program. Here's my results with videos of my new maxes:

Squat: 385 -> 405 (very proud of hitting this one) YouTube
    Bench: 282 TnG -> 280 Paused YouTube
    Deadlift: 385 -> 405 YouTube
    420 deadlift fail as a bonus -> YouTube
    Press: 171.5 -> 175 YouTube

Moving forward I really want to improve my deadlift as much as possible since I can squat as much as I deadlift. I'm planning on competing in my first powerlifting meet October 5th and want to make the 93 kg class which means I have about 15-20 lbs to lose if I want to have some wiggle room going into the meet (I currently weigh ~215 lbs). I'm wondering if anyone has a good suggestion programming wise to tackle my goal of improving my deadlift and at least maintaining my squat and bench press while I lose the weight. I was also thinking some more frequent exposure to heavy singles, doubles, and triples could be beneficial for my powerlifting goals so maybe a heavy light medium with top sets in the 1-3 rep range with back offs in the 4-6 range for heavy day movements could work. Andy's 6 week deadlift template interests me too for dealing with my crappy deadlift. Thoughts?