starting strength gym

Thread: Need short cues for all lifts

Default Need short cues for all lifts

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I searched the forum, but found there was too much info and found I don't really know enough to simplify the information.

I train alone, and am a novice lifter. I thought I had decent form, posted some videos, and realized I could use....um...some improvement.

I'd really like to laminate an 8x10 sheet of paper for each lift, with a couple 1 or 2 word cues to help me focus on form.

Problem is, I'm a novice and don't really know what cues are most helpful. Anyone want to be generous and give me a few cues (and short description of cue purpose) for a lift or two?

Again, if this already exists and I missed it, I'll accept the forum flogging and gracefully accept a redirection to where it exists.

Depends what needs to be improved on your lifts.

Oh, and I am reading the book. Just finished the press chapter and in the middle of the DL chapter. It's a lot of information, all good, but again I don't *yet* know how to simplify it for quick reference before a lift.

At this point, I think I'm so new to them, that general cues are what I'm after.

If I were take a stab at the squat:
    Shoulder width
    Lower back
    Big breath
    Stiff pelvis
    Eyes down
    SPREAD knees
    Lift your ass
    Hip hinge
    Squeeze
    Exhale

But, that might be out of order, etc. I guess I just wondered if there were a set of general cues for each lift that are universally used.

We are not going to be able to give you a satisfactory answer without either a very detailed explanation of a specific form fault you are having or a form check video (hint: video's probably easier!)

Also, general sets of cues and form corrections for common mistakes for each lift are listed in the book, if that helps.

starting strength coach development program