starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coming from 5/3/1

Default Coming from 5/3/1

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Rip,

I'm 30, 6'3'' and 200lbs , I've been doing 5/3/1 for around 2 years now , I have gained around 60lbs of body weight and my current 1rm's are as follows

Squat - 130kg
    Bench - 90kg
    Deadlift - 180kg

I haven't stalled on 5/3/1 but progress is very slow as the program intends to do , looking back now I realise I started off with the wrong program , would I benefit from switching to starting strength now , I believe I have pretty good technique in the main lifts now and have a average strength base but where should I go from here ?

Thanks

Immediately switch to SS and gain weight

Meh, you could have course gain some weight, but you're not a true novice, and an SS progression even with some weight gain probably won't last that long. I'd shoot for slow controlled weight gain in the same pace you're already doing, and I'd only do SS for a lift until 1 or 2 fails, fractional plates are probably required for linear progression in benching and pressing at this point. You're 30 years old, and programming changes should be more premature, cause you probably won't be able to squeeze out as much progress as a true novice. I suspect SS should only last for 1-2 months before going on TM, hard to say exactly how long of course.

Thanks for the replies

So are you saying TM is probably my best bet going forward ?

I'm with the others. I don't think a Starting Strength run with a caloric surplus would be a bad thing. I don't think your 3x5 weight is that much. You probably have a bunch of room for growth.

Brodie Butland is offline Starting Strength Coach
    Consigliere

Quote Originally Posted by Westie1986 View Post
    Thanks for the replies

So are you saying TM is probably my best bet going forward ?