starting strength gym

Thread: Texas Method for MMA Q

Default Texas Method for MMA Q

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Coach Mark,

I am Kai. An amateur mixed martial artists looking to make it to the pro ranks. 5 Weeks ago I started lifting weights for the first time in my life using a variation of your beginner program. The only thing I changed was that I did high bar instead of low bar squats because of a lot of shoulder injuries. I got good results so far but I stalled. I believe its because I train various martial arts every day(+conditioning work) so they don't let me progress as someone who just lifts weights.

My stats are 20 y.o, 6'1, 170lbs and I squat: 205x5, press: 115x5, power clean: 185x3, bench press: 155x5, deadlift: 315x5, strict pullups: +90lbs x 5

I want to start doing the Texas Method so I can recover better and continue making progress. Do you think it is a good idea?

Also, because of my bad shoulders I am thinking to drop the bench press and do the push press on volume and heavy day and strict press on light day. Will this work or it is stupid?

I would be grateful if you could help.