starting strength gym

Thread: Physical Therapy

Default Physical Therapy

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Mark-

This board has often documented your disdain for physical therapists. Although I am currently studying to be a PT, I often find myself agreeing with your complaints. I believe PTs could learn a lot from you and others who do what you do. I have two questions.
    1) What are your main issues with the way physical therapy is practiced and what could be done to rectify them?
    2) What are the areas, if any, you think physical therapy makes a legimate and unique contribution to medical services (i.e. post-surgical, CVA recovery, etc...)?

Just interested to hear your thoughts. Any other MDs, PTs, or other medical personnel can feel free to chime in too.

Thanks,

Rick

In a nutshell, I think the basis of the problem is that PTs are trained to apply a version of the medical model to rehab: what structure is damaged? and how do we fix that structure? In most cases, this analysis is flawed, and it is almost always flawed when applied to athletes, because it fails to consider the System of which the structure is a component.

I've bitched enough about this. But we have two guys here, Will Morris and John Petrizzo, both SSCs and both PTs, who can address the issue productively. In fact, John has written an article about this, which will run very soon.

Awesome. I really look forward to reading it.

Most of the lifters at my gym would be shit out of luck if we didn't have at least two great PTs in town who understand both the mental and physical components of competitive lifting. I cannot complain about what we have available from the numerous orthopedic surgeons and the resulting referrals to PTs in this area.