starting strength gym

Thread: Coaching the kid that knows everything.

Default Coaching the kid that knows everything.

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I am a trainer at The Summit YMCA in Toledo,Ohio, and I have been teaching your system to everyone I train. It has been very well received and has given everyone a tremendous passion for training! The people I have had the most trouble with are younger athletes, well not younger like below 7th grade but more like kids 7-12 grade. They think they know eeeverything, they know everything about the exercises but really have no clue about proper form and spend the whole time defending what they know. Do you have any advice for making kids more coachable? Anything that has worked best for you?

Yelling works best. Then, after the yelling has accomplished it's purpose and gotten them to actually do it correctly, the smarter ones will see why. The stupid ones you can't do anything about.

I run into this with some kids and a few adults when the black belts have me assist in the instruction in jujitsu, I'm only a brown belt. We don't do an MMA or BJJ form, but a strictly self defense form. I'll just bet that the kids you are having a hard time with have some of the same characteristics that I see like the MMA boxing bounce, or a what if this? scenario. A simple physical demonstration of how what they think they know is wrong has always worked well for me and it has been effective for all ages. A bouncy and springy stance gets a foot sweep that ends with the bouncer ricocheting off the mat. A "what iffer" is told to demonstrate their what if, and then you stop their attack and drop them. Not necessarily hurt them, mind you, but a good graeco-roman shock when terminal velocity deceleration ends in contact with the floor usually results in a few rearranged brain cells.