starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: squat: getting the bar off the rack

Default squat: getting the bar off the rack

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    hi guys,

56 yo novice here, 170lb. i am now up to squatting 155. it is weird, when i was with coach Adam, I did the 155 all right. Last night, it wasn't as easy. Maybe it was because it was near my bed time? (My shoulder was doing its usual best to mess me up as well).

It felt heavy to the extent that I wasn't sure I could get it off the rack. I did, for all three work sets, but de-racking it kind of felt like I was at my limit.

Is it normal to feel like de-racking is "uh, i don't know if i can do this, this feels seriously heavy," say, for us geezers?

I should add that I am pretty sure I am de-racking right. Bar over mid-foot, knees bent, bracing my upper body, valsalva. Then stand up.

steve
    Last edited by sfischer; 01-29-2015 at 06:33 AM.

I noticed that early on but as the difference between my weight for squats and for deadlifts has increased, I have noticed that feeling less and less.

I am larger than you and, to me, anything over 200 feels heavy off the rack but unracking 250 or 300 doesn't really feel any heavier than 200. What I think I am saying is that once I get comfortable with "heavy" , it becomes easier to throw that weight on your back ( not any easier to squat it, but not intimidating to unrack it ).

I've unracked and reracked a bar more than once because something felt off. I've unracked a squat and immediately thought, "oh shit" and managed to get my sets anyway. It's supposed to be hard. Some days are harder than others.

I suspect it happens to everyone. Sessions like that are bound to occur sooner or later.