starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: squat shoulder pain - solution - DIY bar handles

Default squat shoulder pain - solution - DIY bar handles

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Low bar squat shoulder pain
    I am a 56 yo SS novice with significant shoulder immobility issues. Despite some great coaching, and even with a wrist wrap and bent wrist grip, low bar squatting was painful, my grip was extremely wide, I had trouble lifting my elbows to form a shelf, and I could barely concentrate on squat form because of the pain and contortions. I was near having to abandon the low bar squat because of my shoulders.

Solution: DIY bar handles
    I came up with a do-it-yourself solution that is very inexpensive, and has solved all the above problems: bar handles made of rope and PVC pipe (instructions below).

The handles move my grip to about 3" forward of where it was when on the bar. Everything else in the squat is the same.

I used the handles yesterday, for a full work set, and it was a night and day improvement. No pain at all, and the bar felt perfectly secure on my back, way more so than before.

The solution was inspired by the following reddit thread, as well as Adam's Skillin's suggestion that using straps would be risky, and that Hookers Handles might work:

I have not tried the Hookers Handles, but the advantages of the rope and pipe handles are:
    • $15 versus $90
    • distance from the bar is adjustable. To me, this is important, so you can find your personal sweet spot, and especially if you want to gradually wean yourself from the handles. From photos, the Hookers seem to be quite a distance from the bar.
    • the rope is a little flexible, which reduces wrist flexion if using a wide grip.

Videos

Here is a video slideshow of the handles: