starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New on the forum

Unhappy New on the forum

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi fellow lifters!

First of all, excuse errors in spelling and grammar, I'm swedish.
    I've been finding myself in these forums when googling for training advice and now I finally registrered.
    I just turned 50 and I've been exercising all my life with you name it. In September -14 I hurt my back while trying to squat 100 kg with a self taught hi-bar squat. Walked bent forward for a week thinking that free weights were over for me. Simply too old.
    But somehow I stumbled across SS on some site and now I just wish I had found when I was 25. All those waisted hours in the gym!
    At my age I can follow instructions and I started conservatively and worked my way up. My numbers aren't impressive but it's the strongest I have ever been. And I'm not done!
    But more importantly, I feel great! My back is never a problem, my bum shoulder is good to go. Mood, sleep, general health, It's ridiculous!
    I realize I'm preaching to the quire here but who else would understand? No one around me does. Well, my sons have started lifting on my recommendation but it seems young folk have trouble following a program.

Anyhow, my three day a week progression stopped in february (slightly overtrained) and since then I tried a tweaked TM with one VD and one ID with three to four days apart. No LD.
    It works but it's getting really, really hard to progress on ID. I could stop here and just maintain, but now I got the bug so I would be really interested in what you guys did when approaching your limits.

In any case, great to finally be here!

My numbers:
    Height: 189cm
    Weight: 96 kg (went from 91 to 101 in three months, now stabilized)

SQ: 70-140 kg
    BP: 60-90 kg
    SP: 30-60 kg
    DL: 90-160 kg

Welcome! Numbers are looking good!