starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Lost strength numbers from CrossFit! Where do I begin now?

Default Lost strength numbers from CrossFit! Where do I begin now?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Yes, I googled the site for this specific question but didn't find this one. That said:

I've been doing CrossFir for two years now. This time last year I followed Wendlers 5/3/1 and took my numbers to as follows in 6 months:

Deadlift 405 (395 x 3)
    Press 165
    Bench 225
    Squat 325

After 6 months I quit the program and went back to strict CrossFit programming (following mainsite). My lifts are currently:

Deadlift 335
    Press 145
    Bench not sure (not 225)
    Squat 295
    Squat clean 245

These are the starting weights I come up with so far for starting the novice program:

Squat 145
    Press 75
    Deadlift 185
    Bench press 115
    Power clean 115

Where do I start now for a strength program? Novice? If so, are my weight assumptions correct? Am I starting too light?

Start a standard linear progression and go above and beyond your old numbers.

Buy Marks book and read it.
    It is likely to be the best money you ever spend on yourself.

Weights aren't chose arbitrarily but via a titration in the first workout of the program.
    Which you would know if you had the book

What Joe said. You've proven to yourself that crossfit programming doesn't work and you obviously care about being strong. There's a wealth of practical information to that end and that book is where you find it.

I read the 2nd edition PPST. Not sure what you're talking about "titration" through first workout. Yes it's a great book. Recently purchased the 3rd edition.

Quote Originally Posted by noalajim View Post