starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Question about a recent Podcast with Jordan

Question Question about a recent Podcast with Jordan

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi guys!

In a recent podcast about Nutrition and SS, Rip said that it's important to become stronger as you get older since it helps you with your daily activies and general health, and he doesn't care about his belly. I've read that argument on the forum and other articles. I'm no health expert but I agree with Rip's argument.

What I don't follow is that he suggest to Jordan to get 'fatter' too, I don't recall how much. I mean, there's much evidence indicating that limiting calories helps you to live longer and other benefits. Don't you think it is bad advice? The best scenario as you get older would be to become stronger and still don't get too much fat, in my opinion.

What did I get wrong?

By the way, I love SS podcast. Keep it up!

Thank you.

What is your question?

I think you said it's not possible to loose fat and gain muscle at the same time unless complete novice.

My question is, for someone who's been training for 2 years or so, are you saying we can't 'recomp' if calories are held constant!? :-(

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Bryant View Post
    I think you said it's not possible to loose fat and gain muscle at the same time unless complete novice.

My question is, for someone who's been training for 2 years or so, are you saying we can't 'recomp' if calories are held constant!? :-(
    Pretty much.

Does that mean that someone who wants to cut fat and gain muscle should cycle between a caloric surplus and deficit?

What exactly is the purpose of the recomp diet in To Be A Beast if we pretty much can't recomp if calories are held constant?