starting strength gym

Thread: "The Change"

Default "The Change"

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Aka menopause...

Thought I would add to the female/masters population questions. At 47 years old, the odds are this will happen to me in the next 5 years or so. It feels like a looming deadline of uncertain date.

Have you coached anyone through this time and, if so, what should I expect? I started training to get stronger only about 2.5 years ago, and am happy with both the process and my progress so far. But does require advanced programming now (by someone much, much smarter than I am), and I'm afraid even these slow gains will come to a screeching halt. Hopefully, you will tell me this is not the case.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts on this, as well as for your books. I bought PP to become a better trainee, and Strong Enough because it was the only other ebook of yours. Grim determination, indeed, Coach.

I have not noticed any catastrophic destruction due to menopause. Look on the bright side: as your estrogen goes away, testosterone will become the dominant hormone.

We have a lifter at WFAC who is going through "the change." She just PR'd her deadlift and is competing in next weeks Highlander Games event in Wichita Falls where she's sure to kick ass. Don't fret. Work hard and have a fan handy for the sweats.

jp

Well that conjured up an image of being weak, only with chin and ear hairs, that made me choke on my coffee.