starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lateral hip shift when squatting. Possibly leg length discrepancy?

Default Lateral hip shift when squatting. Possibly leg length discrepancy?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hey Mark, first of all, I'd like to thank you for the great work you're doing. You are a big inspiration for me and you convinced me to start lifting weights.

However, I have big problems with the squat, so big that I've been stuck for over a month trying to correct it without any success. I live in Europe so it's not possible for me to attend any seminaries for live coaching, so I'm making this thread instead. Hope that's OK.

I've been training for almost two months now and the squat has been a real struggle. I started the squat at a low weight, 40kg, and increased the weight by 2.5kg each workout until I reached 67.5kg. This is where I had to stop increase the weight because I noticed flaws in my form. I have a video and a picture included to demonstrate the flaws.

Two flaws I've identified:

*When I'm in the hole, my left knee is higher than my right knee. One of my shoulder looks rotated and messing up with the bar alignment. Picture for demonstration: asymmetry - Album on Imgur
    *When I start to ascend, my body puts the weight on my right leg and throwing my hips laterally to the right.

I'm really trying to push my left knee out as hard as I can but I still end up with a corkscrew motion. That is some bad asymmetry and I look like a spaghetti straw when I'm squatting. I increase the deadlift each workout still, and both presses on a weekly basis. But not being able to squat properly is really hindering my progress and it feels like I'm missing out on all the benefits a properly executed squat should provide.

Here's a few things I suspect is causing the problem: