starting strength gym

Thread: Home Training?

Default Home Training?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi Mr Rippetoe, i recently purchased and read Starting Strength and was very impressed with the sheer detail it goes into, though being a complete novice some of it did go way over my head but i'm sure i'll start to grasp it better after re-reading it.

I live on a small island in the UK and as such only have access to one gym.
    I signed up yesterday and was given a briefing of all the equipment etc and the trainer said he would write me a program, when i told him i wanted to be doing the novice program outlined in Starting Strength here are some of the things he told me:

It's far too low volume and intensity to build muscle.

I shouldn't be lifting heavy weights because i'm so skinny and it could cause dislocations or tiny fractures in my bones.

Using heavy weights is only optimal for powerlifters.

If i want to gain weight i should eat loads for a few months til i gain about 10lbs of fat then go to the gym and turn it to muscle.

Only experienced trainees can use the racks.

He then went on to give me a program consisting of a circuit doing 15-20 reps on each station i.e. leg extensions, pec-dec, lat pulldown, curl machine, press machine and dumbell curls followed by 30 minutes on the treadmill.

Now being completely new to all this should i follow his advice? Or alternatively i could invest in some olympic weights a bench and a power rack and workout at home, would this be safe and worthwhile.

Sorry for the really long post resulting in a very simple question it's just i'm a little confused. Thank you for the book and for your time.

It seems to be a primitive little island. Was he wearing a loincloth with "Trainer" embroidered on it? Honestly, if you have to do what he says, you can't train there, and you'll have to get some equipment.