starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Squat Form Check

Default Squat Form Check

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi coaches! I'm just starting out squatting @ 27kg. How is my form? I have a very flexible lumber from too many computing hours, so I'm trying to squeeze my abs & co as hard as I can.

https://vimeo.com/85756115

Thanks!

You are lifting your chest out of the bottom. Drive with the hips. Put some weight on the bar. 27 kg is way too light for you.

Thanks for the feedback! I was aiming to go slower on the squat, since I still have some groin pain from my previous try of SS (see here). I now do 15 minutes of foam rolling before each session, which seems to help a bit.

Anyway, I upped the weight to 42.5 kg, which is quite pain free for now. Here is a new vid:

https://vimeo.com/86350490

Another issue that I'm having is with my left shoulder. It seems to be very tight. I have to take my grip about 2 inches further outside than on the right side, so that the bar is still centered on my back. I do have some medium pain in this shoulder's front part, which is stretched the most in the squat. It prevents me from sleeping on that side. So for the moment, I'm taking a grip that is more wide than the recommended max. Hopefully this will get better after a few more workouts.

Not bad. Get tighter. Put 20 more kilos on the bar at least. Take whatever grip you can.

Thanks Tom, but I don't think I can up it more than 5 kg atm. Reasons being:

1) My tight shoulder needing a wide grip and so I'm not able to build a comfortable shelf with my traps, which leads to the bar resting partly on bone, being already quit uncomfortable @ 42 kilos.

2) That last vid was from my second set. In the third set, my form was already breaking under the 42 kilos, so I think I simple don't have the power to do squats @ 62 kilos

Do what you need to do, in that case.