starting strength gym

Thread: Form check, deadlift at 320 lbs

Default Form check, deadlift at 320 lbs

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    • starting strength seminar april 2025
    First time I've looked at my own deadlift. It was a little easier than expected after a week off for vacation.

Deadlift at 320 lbs - YouTube

Things I see: I think I am a bit too far forward, and the first rep I broke my knees to early and the bar scooted out as a result. Anything else you'd change?

**I'm still learning so please take this with a grain of salt**

Hi. You look pretty good. I would change one thing on the set-up that may help with the rest of the pull. Think "Big Chest" right before you take that breath to tighten up and pull. This should help you activate your lats and keep the bar in contact with your shins and thighs. You'll know you're keeping the bar in close contact with your legs if it pulls your shorts up at the top of the movement.

So thinking "Big Chest" should help you engage the lats, which will make it easier to drag the bar up the shins and then up the thighs. If your shorts get pulled up when you get to the top you know you did it correctly. There should be no daylight between your legs and the bar on the way up.

Please let me know if this helps. I'm also learning, and ultimately would like to become a coach. I'm trying to use this forum to help me develop a coaches eye.

Quote Originally Posted by Laughing_paddler View Post
    First time I've looked at my own deadlift. It was a little easier than expected after a week off for vacation.

Deadlift at 320 lbs - YouTube

Things I see: I think I am a bit too far forward, and the first rep I broke my knees to early and the bar scooted out as a result. Anything else you'd change?