starting strength gym

Thread: Deadlift form check

Default Deadlift form check

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I've been doing SS for a few months now. Am finally getting around to posting some form checks. This is from my last warm-up set today. Just 1 rep. I wanted to show this set, which was my last set without a belt, so that you could get a better view of the hips and back.

http://youtu.be/SdTwBTznzpQ

I've read and re-read the article about how to set up for the deadlift, so in principle I know what to do. Still, I was surprised to watch this video -- it looks like I am a classic case of dropping the hips too low, given by how my hips rise before the bar starts to move. Am I doing anything else wrong here? I royally screwed up my back on deadlifts a year and a half ago (well before starting SS) so I want to make sure I'm doing this right.

Thanks in advance!

I think you need to read the sticky and do the deadlift setup exactly as specified there. I think you should wear some lifting shoes and give us a set of five at working weights, too. Yes, you are dropping your butt a little too low. Narrowing your stance a little and pointing your toes out slightly would not be bad ideas, either.

Thanks, Tom. Appreciate the feedback. I had read the sticky several times and thought I was doing it, but from viewing the video I can now tell I wasn't. My next deadlift is Friday so I'll take a video of my working set then.