starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Can't break past plateau/Still have pathetic lifts

Default Can't break past plateau/Still have pathetic lifts

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I have been training since April 19, 2014 and still am lifting pussy weights. I had my form checked on here and was told its decent. I am still squatting 200/pressing 105/ benching 185/dead lifting 280
    I have deloaded the press 3 times, squat 2 times, deads 2 times and bench 1 time. I increased my caloric intake by 500 cals as per one of the coaches on here. Still no progress. I have been stuck for 1.5 months. I am pushing myself as hard as I can. My legs start feeling like jelly and shake right before I fail my squat and the legs just give out on the way up.
    What the fuck am I doing wrong Mark? Seriously...

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    Great article. I read it in the book as well.
    "You’ll start out stronger than the skinny guy, and strength gains have the potential to come easier for you if you eat correctly because your body hasn’t got the problems with growing that skinny guys do."
    I started off squatting 75lbs. I wouldn't exactly say thats stronger than the skinny guy.

Explain something to me. My maintenance calories (I'm assuming you know what that means) is 3000cals a day. Eating anymore than that would put me in a surplus which would mean gaining fat along with muscle. How is 3500 going to cause my body to recomp?
    I started doing the program at 2500 cals and bumped it up to 3000 as per one of the coaches stated to do on here and it has made no difference to the amount of weight I can put on the bar.
    You say to eat a low card diet if your a fat fuck (my words). Isn't carbs where you get your energy to train? I personally feel even weaker if I try to train with no carbs.