starting strength gym

Thread: Questions for the Martial Artists - BJJ Weight for Comp.

Default Questions for the Martial Artists - BJJ Weight for Comp.

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I am currently training in BJJ having recommenced martial arts after a 10 year hiatus. I am now faced with the choice of staying in my current weight class (under 88.3kgs/194.5pounds) which I am well short of the limit or trying to cut down and make weight in the lower one (under 82.3kgs/181). For BJJ I am a rank novice. First comp is in approx 6 months. There may be minor ones before this, but these I am not worried about. Of course weight is with gi, so that accounts for 2kgs/4.4 pounds.

Current situation:-
    Age: 34. Weight: 83kgs (183 pounds), approx body fat 12%.

Training:-
    BJJ twice a week. Conditioning/aerobic ~3 times per week (work requirement). Lifting 2x per week.

Lift stats (1RM):-
    Squat: 135kgs (297 pounds)
    Deadlift: 140kgs (308 pounds)
    Bench: 80kgs (176 pounds)
    Press: 55kgs (121 pounds)
    PC: 70kgs (154 pounds)

Note: Some of the lifts are a little screwy - had surgery 6 weeks ago on my elbow to remove a bone chip. I could squat during this time but not much else. Numbers are on the up on all lifts, however.

Question:-
    For those who have been in a similar situation have you found it better to hover above the cut-off of the weight class and cut back near competition or to push up strength/weight as much as possible into the next category but be stronger (and perhaps a tad more "padding")?

Cheers.

As a general rule of thumb, no matter what the sport, raw novices should not worry about making a lower weight class. Just find one you're comfortable in.

Your weight and body composition will change as you train and there's no benefit in derailing that for a competition that doesn't matter.