starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: belt fit question

Default belt fit question

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    28 yo, 6' 240 lbs SS LP

I'm confused about how my belt should be fitting during the deadlift. It's my first time using one. 4" 10 mm

The problem: I'll put my belt on tight enough so that I can still get a full breath of air (maybe this is a mistake). I'm shaped a bit like the letter "d" if you know what I mean, so the belt will be snug until I get into the bottom position, where my gut basically gets smushed into my thighs. This temporarily makes my waist smaller at the bottom, which makes the belt loose, so I get nothing from the belt until I'm about halfway up. This is making everything feel very weird and not giving me a smooth pull.

I'm not really having a problem getting my back in extension, so I don't know if a thinner belt is the solution. I wear the belt across my navel, maybe slightly lower. My deadlift set up is exactly what is described in the book. Maybe I just need to lose weight?

Thanks for your time.

Your problem is one that many share. You can mess around a little with belt positioning and tightness. A leather powerlifting belt often does not do a whole lot first thing off the ground and only "bites" when the bar gets near the knees. Do you have a 3-inch belt you can try? Without being there, I cannot say a whole lot more than try moving the belt up and down and see how it feels. Some peeps like the belt higher on pulls, or higher in the back. Play with it. That's all I got.

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Campitelli View Post