starting strength gym
Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: What weight to start with and expectations

Default What weight to start with and expectations

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I need to have around a 230x5x3 squat by February 23. (I'll do everything Obv but that's the main benchmark I need to reach)

Rn my 5 rep max for squats is around 155-170

What weight should I start at? Is it realistic to get to 200 ish weight by sets in about 6-8 weeks?

I'm planning to start at 100 pounds. Is that too high? I'm going at either 90-100, but I would much rather start at 100.

Realistically if I follow the program completely, can I get to around 200 pounds in 6 weeks? Or 230 in 10? (Working weight)

I'm 160 pounds and 6ft, but I'm almost a complete novice when it comes to lifting

If I start at 95, do I go up by 10 pounds every workout until I can't and have to only do 5 pound jumps or only for 2 weeks, it said its unsustainable at a point so wouldn't that mean wh it gets hard?

But what can I expect for my squat and my body weight when I'm done with the program?

Rn it's this

160 pounds body weight

170 pounds 5 rep max

So should I start at 100 pounds? And keep on going with 10 pound increases till I can't? The book says go for 2 weeks, but it says it becomes unsustainable too, so wouldn't that mean just go until I fail the last rep of a 10 pound increase (it also said at one point, he might fail the last rep, where he will switch to 5 pound increases)

my squat went from 135 pounds 1rm to 170 pounds 5rpmx from doing 110 pound squats of 5 cuz my dad wouldn't let me get any higher for like a month, so I think I'm still having the novice effect
    Last edited by Derem; 11-02-2016 at 08:44 AM.

No one can answer these questions for you. Depends on your form, compliance to the program, compliance to your diet, sleep, genetics...