starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How frequently to do excersices while cutting?

Default How frequently to do excersices while cutting?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I am cutting right now. Somewhat by accident somewhat not (im fixing my form, waiting for shoes, and my wife says im fat).

In order to not lose strength how frequently do I need to lift my weights (for example my press)? once a week? Twice? 3 times a week?
    Should I squat as many times a week to not lose that strength or is that somehow different?

I suppose the assumption would be that im not drastically undereating (which im not)

I am no expert, but here is what has worked for me.

Backstory: I am naturally kind of fat. Pre-SS I was 225# and fat. After several months of SS and then 5/3/1 I was up to 240# and much stronger but still fat. I am now about 220# and am gaining strength and slowly surpassing where I was at 240# strenghtwise.

What has allowed me to progress while eating clean is a reduction in training tonnage. The biggest thing I found to help reduce tonnage was doing ramping sets instead of sets across. I do 5 ramping sets of 5 up to one top set of squats and bench/press. I do 5 ramping sets of 3 up to one top set of DL/power clean. The first set of 5 is generally 50% of the top set and I work up in even increments from there.

The next thing that helped was reducing training sessions to 2 days a week and arranging the workload in a Heavy, Medium set up. See Andy Baker's explanation at bakerstrengthcoaching.com for heavy, light, medium training.

Day 1 (Heavy): Squat 5x5, Bench 5x5, DL 5x3 - All sets ramping to one top set
    Day 2 (Med.): Squat (90-95% of Heavy) 5x5, Press 5x5, Clean 5x3 - All sets ramping to one top set