starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Squat Technique Check

Post Squat Technique Check

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi guys,

I am a beginner that is 3 weeks into the NLP. Below is my squat technique video of my last set of 3x5 with 80kgs.

I am reading the blue book and noticed I should probably bring my legs closer together and point my toes out more, but wanted to know if my squat is looking correct overall?

17 January 2024 - YouTube

Thank you in advanced,
    Daniel.

Hey Daniel, your observations about stance are correct. Let's see how these clean up if you fix your stance and do a better job of setting the knees forward a bit sooner in your descent. All combined, these tips should also help you get a bit more depth as well.

You're also slightly "dive bombing" the descent (going down too fast) which might correct itself over time since heavier loads demand more focus. It's not a bad idea to get that in your head now, of course.

By the way, the safety pins appear to be set too low to help you right now, in the even of an emergency. You want the pins to be just below the lowest place your bar travels in a correct squat. Again, your depth will be a little lower once you make the above corrections. It could must be the camera angle though. Your video could be better - check out the Sticky for info about that.

Unfortunately these are above parallel.

Bringing your feet in just a bit and pointing your toes out, and actively pushing your knees out at the bottom, should help with depth and you should do it. But you also simply just need to go lower.

These are all very high. Yes, your diagnosis is correct: bring your stance in a hair, point your toes out, and shove your knees out hard.

A couple of more things to address:

Stand up straight at the top, with your chest out and your head between your shoulders.