starting strength gym

Thread: Will SS work for me?

Default Will SS work for me?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hello, I am a 20 y/o male, 178cm tall and weigh 82.5kg. I have been training on and off for a couple of years. I have now continuously trained from June last year running programs like Candito 6 weeks, Candito upper/lower and now 6 weeks into ICF 5x5. I'm pretty muscular, but the problem is that my lifts are still very weak. My lifts as of latest: bench 75kg 5x5, squat 80kg 5x5, deadlift 95kg 1x5. My lower body is very tight (although I stretch and foamroll as much as I can) so that could be a reason for the low squat (and deadlift).

I am thinking of running starting strength to up my lifts, but I'm worried that it won't work because the linear progression on ICF is already very hard in the 6th week. Am I still a novice although training on and off for a few years and now 6 months continuously on good programs? Also kind of worried that my looks will suffer due to the lack of assistance work.

Any advice would be appreciated!

Quote Originally Posted by malietoa View Post
    Also kind of worried that my looks will suffer due to the lack of assistance work.
    No, it won't work for you.

Quote Originally Posted by malietoa View Post
    Hello, I am a 20 y/o male, 178cm tall and weigh 82.5kg. I have been training on and off for a couple of years. I have now continuously trained from June last year running programs like Candito 6 weeks, Candito upper/lower and now 6 weeks into ICF 5x5. I'm pretty muscular, but the problem is that my lifts are still very weak. My lifts as of latest: bench 75kg 5x5, squat 80kg 5x5, deadlift 95kg 1x5. My lower body is very tight (although I stretch and foamroll as much as I can) so that could be a reason for the low squat (and deadlift).