starting strength gym
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hernia Prevention

Default Hernia Prevention

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    What would you say are the most effective ways to prevent hernias?

Choose your parents carefully.

Default Umm...Squat more?

In general, people get hernias because they have fat abdomens and weak abdominal walls (or prior surgery which makes defects in the abdominal wall - after which they become fat and weak). So, likely the answer is to get strong and don't carry large amounts of abdominal fat. But I will admit that I am approaching this question as a physician, and as a physician, I see a large amount of fat people with weak abdominal walls. Perhaps the people on this forum with experience could relate how common hernias are in people who are strong and lifting heavy weights. I would suspect that the incidence is low, as long as they have proper form and are not lifting beyond their ability (which is likely how most hernias develop), but again, we generally don't see such people in the office...so...

And also, a fair number of hernias are a result of genetics...and most people who don't treat kids would probably be surprised at how common it is for kids to need hernia repairs (although often such hernias will resolve on their own as the kids get older.)

My sense is that hernias occur in lifters, like me, at about the same incidence as in the general population. Inguinal hernias are almost always due to genetic predisposition. Training may postpone the acute incident that makes a repair necessary, but if you have a hernia, you got it from your parents. Blame those assholes, not the barbell.

Default Only a small quibble...