starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Intermediate on presses / late novice weight gain

Default Intermediate on presses / late novice weight gain

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi chaps,
    Hope y'all are having a festive time, if that's what you're into!

I've been a novice now for a little over a year (should be finished by now, but been two or three resets along the way). I feel like a true novice on the lower body lifts, but my presses are progressing much slower -- each 1-1.5kg increment is taking about 3 or so attempts to achieve. I'm still doing 3 sets of 5, should I

a) switch to 5 sets of 3? 3 sets of 3? I trained triples and doubles on the press over the summer, found it easier to progress but not sure it had much training effect.
    b) use intermediate programming? Which is more suitable, Texas method or HLM?
    c) ramp up assisstance work? I currently do very occassional curls to combat bicep tendonitis, but I chin regularly. Aiming for a decent number of overall reps so I use sets of 5 but I could proabably amrap at least 7.
    d) something else?!

I'm 37, 100kg, current lifts are 135kg squat, 145kg dead, 50kg press, 78.5kg bench. I've gradually put on 10kg of body-weight over the last year, feel pretty fat though (have been my whole life). Should I get heavier? Is there a way to proceed at the same bodyweight? Squats feel pretty solid at the moment. I'm planning to run a 10k with my wife in March, would be nice to get round in less than an hour -- I'm certain a lighter bodyweight would help most with that, but lifting takes priority.
    For cardio, I cycle 5 days a week between 10 and 40 miles; I'll be adding a couple of runs (maybe one long run and one set of hill sprints per week) in February. Is it worth doing HIIT in January? I enjoy (if that's the right word) the C2 rower, also my gym has a stairmaster, is that good?