starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Have to take time off from squats. Concentrating on deadlift

Default Have to take time off from squats. Concentrating on deadlift

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Long story short, im going to take 4 weeks off from squats. I have a left knee injury. From the hours of research i have done. It sounds as if i have a tear in my meniscus. After the rest time, if the issue is still there ill evaluate options. I'm PRAYING the rest works. The pain happens just shy of parallel. In which the knee "locks up". I can sometimes wobble my knee around and then its fine. Last week on ID squatting 275 it locked upon the 3 rep, I had to dump the weight. It can even lock up with a body weight squat. I cant pin point an exact event that started the pain. Im NOT a doctor. Im just trying to rule out any other injury possibilities with the rest.

I have had my form "inspected". All good. I made minor changes accordingly. Im about 3 months into TM style workouts. making great progress. Though im not happy with my squat strength. But I hadn't gotten discouraged. And kept plugging along. My bench is 225x5 and deadlift is 340x5. So now comes my search for opinions/ knowledge. While during my rest from squats i want to turn that focus to deadlifts. Like I said, I only have pain near parallel. I dont think this is covered in the book, but ill check agian tonight. I'm going back and forth on adding a volume day. Or HLM. Just looking for some opinions. Thanks for taking the time to read!

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremi414 View Post
    I have had my form "inspected". All good!
    By whom? An SSC?