starting strength gym

Thread: Power Clean Form Check

Default Power Clean Form Check

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hey,

I'm new to power cleans and have incorporated them into my routine.
    The weight is 100lbs (~45kg) and it is my 4th of 5 sets of 3.

Normal version:

Slowmo version:

I would appreciate if you can tell me what should be corrected.
    You can click pause and go frame by frame with the direction keys if you want.

Thanks in advantage for taking the time to watch it and help me
    Emjay

Get those knees back once you start the pull. That way you will be able to go straight or even have the bar coming back in towards you a bit. You're coming onto your toes a little bit early because the bar is forward but getting the knees out of the way of the bar should fix this and allow you to stay on your heels.

Quote Originally Posted by PFerrari View Post
    Get those knees back once you start the pull. That way you will be able to go straight or even have the bar coming back in towards you a bit. You're coming onto your toes a little bit early because the bar is forward but getting the knees out of the way of the bar should fix this and allow you to stay on your heels.
    Ok. Is it a good idea to try it with regular height plates? That would be 50kgs --> 110lbs.
    Because I'm 6'2" (+ long legged) and those are small plates.
    With them it is barely possible to get my kness out of the way as their position is determined by my leverages.

Anything else that really needs a fix until I do them again?

You don't want to bounce the bar off the jumping position. It's getting too far away from your body and that won't be sustainable at higher weights.

You'll eventually want to get your elbows through to the rack position more explosively.