starting strength gym

Thread: Warm up reps and PC suggestions for my Wife

Default Warm up reps and PC suggestions for my Wife

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hey Andy,
    My wife decided to start lifting with me a month ago and I have been following the SS progression with her with the suggested changes for women. I'm a novice myself, so we're just kind of plowing through this best we can. It's been a lot of fun.

She's 37, 5'8" and 135lbs.

Two issues we've run into:
    1) Warm ups. I have been trying to follow a similar style of warmup as recommended for men, but that seems to be too much volume by the time she's ready for her work sets. I want to make sure she's properly warmed up, but don't want her fatigued. Is there a general warm up guideline for women? (If it's in the books and I've missed it, then I apologize for being an idiot)

2) Power clean. She's just not getting it. The motion seems too complicated for her. Given her age and very basic non-competitive goals (she just wants to "look and feel better"), should we continue to hammer the Power clean until she "gets it" or should we substitute a different exercise?

Thanks for your time!

1. Read my article: How to Warm Up on my blog. Guidelines are really much different for women than men. Sometimes I take women a little closer to their top weight, but it's not universal

2. She doesn't need to clean. If I made all my female clients clean, I'd have a lot less female clients. Some like it, some don't. Don't force the issue.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy Baker (KSC) View Post
    1. Read my article: How to Warm Up on my blog. Guidelines are really much different for women than men. Sometimes I take women a little closer to their top weight, but it's not universal

2. She doesn't need to clean. If I made all my female clients clean, I'd have a lot less female clients. Some like it, some don't. Don't force the issue.
    Awesome! Thanks.