starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: the barbell backstreet shuffle

Default the barbell backstreet shuffle

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    hi guys, 56yo SS novice here. (and one, apparently, who likes to post questions here.)

i am such a novice that it is just now, after a few months, that the weights are getting seriously heavy. I posted recently about getting the bar off the rack.

tonight's question is about the two or three steps backward to clear the rack.

i am finding i do it with trepidation, like, uh, i have a hugely heavy (for me) weight on my shoulders. i feel unstable doing it, wary with each step, barely raising my feet, and moving my foot just a few inches, like an old man's nursing home shuffle (no disrespect intended).

suggestions?

steve
    Last edited by sfischer; 02-04-2015 at 06:41 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by sfischer View Post
    hi guys, 56yo SS novice here. (and one, apparently, who likes to post questions here.)

i am such a novice that it is just now, after a few months, that the weights are getting seriously heavy. I posted recently about getting the bar off the rack.

tonight's question is about the two or three steps backward to clear the rack.

i am finding i do it with trepidation, like, uh, i have a hugely heavy (for me) weight on my shoulders. i feel unstable doing it, wary with each step, barely raising my feet, and each moving my foot just a few inches, like an old man's nursing home shuffle (no disrespect intended).

suggestions?

steve
    You have to get tight and unrack the bar thinking that you're a made of I-beam. There's no fun way to walk it out. You try to minimize the # of steps, but you have to get your stance right, and practice is your friend. The tighter you are, the lighter it feels. But heavy is heavy.