starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Poor bench press and power clean progress.

Question Poor bench press and power clean progress.

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I've been doing SS for 3 months. Now I am able to squat 1.5x bw (5 reps), deadlift bit more than 1.5x bw (5 reps), press 0.7x bw (5 reps).

However, i can only bench 0.86x bw (5 reps), and I've been stuck here for a very long time. I've deloaded twice.

And in power cleans, I do them less than I bench! I can't do them properly. I get sore elbows. I don't want to do barbell rows either. But I did high pull once and actually felt that in my lower back.

Last week, I added front squats in the middle day to bring a change and see some improvements in strength.

Any advice for bench? And will it be a good idea to do high pulls instead of power cleans?

What are the absolute weights you are dealing with. Please do not report things in terms of bodyweight without saying how much you weigh.

For the power clean, if something's hurting your elbow, you're doing them wrong.

Are high pulls a legit exercise if you can't power clean?

If you can't power clean I bet you can't do a high pull correctly

Quote Originally Posted by Eric Larousse View Post
    Are high pulls a legit exercise if you can't power clean?
    Depends on why you can't. If you can't because you have a legitimate wrist injury and therefore can't rack, maybe. If you can't because you suck at it, no, they aren't. The sore elbows on this guy are probably a symptom of sucking at power cleans and needing to learn how to do them properly

Quote Originally Posted by gzt View Post