starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Professional tennis player unable to squat below parallel

Question Professional tennis player unable to squat below parallel

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I am a 22 year-old professional tennis player from Sweden and I have a big problem. At least I think so. I cannot squat below parallel (and I have problems deadlifting as well) and I do not know why. Some coaches tell me it is because I have short achilles tendons, some because my hips are not mobile enough and some because I cannot contract my rectus femoris. I have been to a dozen of coaches, physiotherapists and doctors and I have tried so many different techniques over the last 10 years to get me to be able to squat but nothing seems to work.

Some background information:
    I was born two month earlier than expected and with very short achilles tendons. When I turned one I got my left leg put in plaster due to the fact that I could not put my left heel into the ground when I was standing up holding onto something. Ten years later I still had problems and I was walking on my forefoot and toes only on both feet. During a couple of years I had to consciously think about how to walk every time I was going to take a step and thanks to that I learn how to walk a little bit better.

According to my physical trainer the flexibility in my ankles is not so good, but it should be enough to do a squat. He bases this on the fact that I can do a lunge with a straight back and push my toes an inch i front of my foot. My hip mobility is bad as well, but I can do a full ROM squat if I hold onto something so that I do not fall backwards. I cannot assume the bottom position of the squat without a bar as you suggest in Starting Strength.