starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Too late for SS?

Default Too late for SS?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I have been lifting for 2 years, most of that time was spent losing weight unfortunately.
    Current squat is 280, bench press is 170, and deadlift is 350.
    I am not sure what the issue is, but i tend to lose strength very rapidly when not in a calorie surplus regardless of having a good diet (that is not the issue), my strength gains are also really slow.
    I have had to restart at lower weights with nearly everything several times, deadlift has only gone up around 30 pounds in 2 years. I had several issues with form and repeated injuries on deadlifts because i cannot get into position despite flexibility being well and watching the tutorials by Mark on youtube.
    I am doing a 5 day strength training split, its not bad but im doing something wrong...regardless, is it too late to switch to SS?

Any advice is appreciated.

If you've been having issues w/ form then i recommend you get the SS book and read it. It has good discussions of form and instructions for how to achieve that form for the main lifts. As to the program, what are your other stats ?

Age, height, weight...

thanks, i got one from a friend awhile back and read and finally fixed my form on everything but still struggle with the deadlift start. I took a video as well.

I am 27, 5'9, 159 lbs, currently ~8.5-9% bf (literally, not a guess). roughly 250-300 calorie surplus a day with strong emphasis on calorie/macro counting.

I think the main problem is i dont have the frequency of squatting more than once a week that allows faster growth, i started reading stories of how others have achieved a 3 plate deadlift in a fairly quick timeframe so i am curious to see if it would work for me.
    Last edited by Zero; 08-04-2012 at 09:03 PM.