starting strength gym

Thread: New Coach Requesting Advice...

Default New Coach Requesting Advice...

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    This is a question regarding coaching advice (I am new to coaching)...hope this is a correct forum to ask this...

With reference to this earlier thread:

http://startingstrength.com/resource...ad.php?t=48495

I have now had 2 weeks of "professional" coaching experience (not getting paid yet, but I think that will get corrected over the next month or so) - there have been about
    10 different trainees, across different demographics.

Enjoying the coaching sessions, as are (I suppose) the people who are attending these Strength Training sessions.

One question that came to my mind regarding coaching Squats (LBBS) is, regarding ways that the Coach can identify hip-drive (or the lack of it).

Other than what is visually obvious/direct in terms of "driving chest up" that I am able to notice, would there be other visual (perhaps, in-direct) and other clues which could help in identifying/confirming a lack of hip drive?

Relevant situation that I encountered, which made me raise this question:

During these Strength Training sessions, while I have always emphasized hip-drive as the only way to come out of the hole during a (LBBS) squat, sometimes, at "border-line" conditions, that is perhaps, when trainee is sitting back, but maybe could sit back a bit more, it appears that trainee is maintaining back angle, but still not entirely engaging hip drive (as much as could be possible).

When I encountered this situation, I advised trainee to exaggerate the hip-drive (at the expense of maintaining back angle) by raising with hips faster than shoulders (for only a couple of reps)...this seemed to correct the issue immediately.

Any other pointers is greatly appreciated...

Thanks very much in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by Srini B View Post