• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi all.

The basic stats:

BW: 187 lbs
    Height: 5'-10".
    BF% ~ 22% (I get this estimate by the "photograph" method I found here
    Began SS: 8/5/15 (with a one-month hiatus 9-11 to 10-10 while recovering from surgery and building a basement gym)

Before SS, I had never done any serious lifting work. I am a true rank novice.

Working sets (lbs) as of 10/29/15:
    SQ: 180
    Press: 90
    Bench: 130
    DL: 235
    PwrClean: 85

Since this post is about the Squat, here is a cool plot of the work weight for this lift as a function of time since starting SS.

Anyway; here is the video for the form check. The only DOMS I ever get since starting SS is in the lower back. It sometimes lingers for two days. Sometimes I think it is a lower back ache. Perhaps its related to something I'm doing:
    https://youtu.be/hs_NJo5wcyE

After looking at the video, I realized my head rotates a little upwards as I go down. This is because I'm looking at a fixed spot on the wall. I marked this spot with a piece of tape. With simple geometry, I figured out the height on the wall to mark the spot that would result in the same neck position if the point were actually on the floor but 5 feet away. Since it is a fixed spot, I guess the head has to rotate to keep the eyes looking at the spot while head height changes.

Thanks beforehand for any advice, tips, and observations.
    Last edited by JCR; 11-01-2015 at 09:21 AM.

1. Knee travel: they need to come forward several inches and be just past your toes. Your shins are vertical, causing your back angle to be very closed. I suspect that's why you have a sore back. See figure 2-42 in SSBBT3. The figure is technically showing somebody whose hips shifted back during ascent, but your hips are there to begin with.