starting strength gym

Thread: Deadlift and Front squat form check

Mirat Guest

Default Deadlift and Front squat form check

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    In the deadlift , I'm purposely not setting up a la Rippetoe. I'm trying to copy some powerlifters' pulling technique , like Eric Lilliebridge.
    I'm pulling 180kg (405lbs) in this video for a single , which is about 90% of my 1RM
    Here's the video https://mmf.cdn.whatsapp.net/d/SngG7...EusVbj.mp4?x=2

I'm fairly new to the front squat , hit a single PR of 102.5kg today. I am dealing with knee/hip pain in my right side , do you notice anything in my technique that might be causing this. (I see that my knees are sliding forward in the bottom , is that problematic , how can I fix it ?)

https://mmf.cdn.whatsapp.net/d/o_PEr...B0w-nJ.mp4?x=2

Mirat Guest

Thanks for the answer.
    DL:
    I find that I can't push with my quads when the bar is over the midfoot , I'd love to keep the bar closer but how can I "push the ground" when my hamstrings are so stretched ? I feel like I'm initiating the pull with only my hams/lower back and that it makes me too weak at the start: Here's a video of how I used to pull (about 2-3 years ago) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CduaUsijhJE

FS:
    I'll try and keep my chest up. However , is the back angle low enough ? I mean , is the problem coming from my upper back dropping or from sitting back like in a back squat ?
    Do you see any other issues related to my knees ?

On DL: Why did you drop the bar? For that matter why are you intentionally not following the SS methodology?

With all due respect Mirat, you look like you're strong for your stature. But I feel like you lack the understanding of pulling mechanics and muscular functions to make some of your claims.