starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Squat and Deadlift progression on LP

Default Squat and Deadlift progression on LP

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    • starting strength seminar april 2025
    Coach Wolf,

Background: I'm 27 y/o, ~79kg, 175cm. I've been working out as a typical globo-gym member for several years, using mainly machines, but when I came across SS last October I started to learn and incorporate the main lifts in my workouts. After some vacation time I started a NLP in January with the following weights: Squat 74kg, Press 38kg, Bench 66kg, DL 90kg. At around the third week I started alternating the Deadlifts with Chins, since I was not very confident in my ability to learn Power Clean by myself. I've been working hard to improve my form with the help of some form checks in the Starting Strength Staff Coaches Q&A.

This week my squats were 116kg, 118kg and 120kg, and are starting to feel very hard, and on the mid-week session I failed my last rep in the Deadlift with 135kg. I suspect from the video that my grip was responsible (my right hand started opening a bit from the second rep), but I noticed my back was a bit sloppy too, probably because I was really exhausted by the squats and could not keep my form as I'd like. Maybe I also didn't grind enough, probably.

DL_135kg_failed