starting strength gym

Thread: Squat Form Check

Default Squat Form Check

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Heads up, I'm squatting high bar currently. My shoulders are not flexible enough to get into the low bar position. When I started lifting in November I couldn't even get into the high bar position without a lot of shoulder pain, so I was using handles that I made out of nylon rope and PVC to squat with. That allowed me to do high bar but it never felt secure/safe in the low bar position as the bar was able to roll forward if I leaned over to much, so I stuck with high bar. Last week I decided to try again and found that I was a little more flexible, although it still takes a lot of warm up and stretching. Anyway now I'm doing high bar without the handles, and hopefully over time I will be able to gain some more flexibility and get into the low bar position.

Ok, so here's the video:

315x5, I had gotten up to 355 and had to reset to 325, then I tweaked my back last Friday so I have been going lighter until that's back to 100%.

I thought I was getting below parallel but in the video it looks high to me... not sure what to do about that. I am going as low as I can without relaxing my back and rounding my lumbar spine, and my knees are out. Any thoughts or tips will be appreciated, thanks!

I think these are fine. On the early reps it looks like everything is moving forward onto your toes - knees, torso and bar. If you've read the book, think about the master cue - bar stays in a slot over the middle of the foot. Additionally, I think you could bend over a little more and get more hip drive into the ascent.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Hill View Post