starting strength gym

Thread: Novice Looking for Advice

Default Novice Looking for Advice

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    My background is that I'm a 39yo male, 6'1" and 182lbs. I'm a pretty skinny guy and have struggled building muscle mass my entire life. I have done squats and bench presses before, but could never lift anywhere near what a typical guy my size could. I never really stuck with it either. I'm pretty sure my lack of progress was probably due to a combination of poor programming and lack of motivation to work on it over the long haul.

I'm curious about what you all think about starting a program independently without a coach. I've been reading the Rip's practical programming book and am very interested in the Starting Strength method. I don't see that there are any coaches in my area in the directory on the website. I'm located in the North Dallas area. My main concern would be performing the lifts with the proper form. I know I can use the mirrors to help, but not sure if you would advise against this or if it would be OK. I've got some time before I start since I'm recovering from a shoulder scope at the moment. I plan on reading Starting Strength as well before starting. I want to make sure I design a proper plan and don't rush into it anyway.

My main goal is to add strength and power, not necessarily size, although I know that comes along with it. This is what is intriguing to me about the starting strength approach. Also, I'm very limited in time due to work and family requirements. So I need to find a gym that is reasonably close and open very early in the morning. Do you have any suggestions about what to look for, or know of a gym in my area. The ideal places I've seen are crossfit facilities, but that requires following their programming, not doing your own. The only other places I can find are fitness facilities with a free weights section. Thanks for you help.