starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Total newbie with lower back injury - how do I avoid problems?

Unhappy Total newbie with lower back injury - how do I avoid problems?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    About to start the program and I'm posting pre-emptively as I'm nervous about exacerbating an existing lower back injury I have.

I'm concerned that squats or deadlifts may be a problem. From SS 3rd edt. the only advice I can find is that a belt may be necessary for me.

Does anyone else have experience with lifting with a lower back problem? How do you manage it? Can you recommend anything?

My details below. Thanks in advance for any input.

- Demo data: 28, Male, total newbie

- Chief Complaint: lower back injury which makes me nervous to lift weight. Hurts mostly when 'lean back' or tilt my pelvis forward. I would describe the pain as stemming from where my lower back meets my pelvis, that area.

- Narrative describing the mechanism of injury: I dropped my motorbike and tried to hold it upright (unsuccessfully) about 4-5 years back. Short while later I couldn't walk or move much due to the tremendous pain. Never sought proper treatment, and it subsided after a week or so. Now it doesn't bother me too much unless it flares up due to me moving lifting something heavy inappropriately (eg. twisting at the hips holding a box).

- Pain (on a scale of 1-10): 9 or 10 when flared up, 1 or 2 when not

- Describe the pain: ache/sharp

- What makes it better?: lying down

- What makes it worse?: sitting for long periods or twisting or leaning back

- How do your symptoms behave throughout the day?: dull ache at work (sitting for long period)

You avoid problems by starting light, using good form and working up in a progressive programme which will hopefully strengthen your back and help rehab the old injury.