starting strength gym

Thread: How do YOU stay motivated Mark?

Default How do YOU stay motivated Mark?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Just wondering.

I've been training my ass off for a little over 2 years now. I've been on and off for 6 years before that, but the on/off crap doesn't count.

So I can honestly say that I've been actually training for 2 years now (not 8).

I sometimes feel my motivation slipping though. I tell myself not to be a pussy, and I just man up and hit the gym anyway. I've only skipped workouts in these past 2 years when I TRULY could not make it (except this last friday, where I had the opportunity to have sex with this chick, so I skipped for her, but that was the ONLY time).

Anyway, I'm trying to keep that same motivation that I've had for these past 2 years, and stick with it for the rest of my life.

Is there any motivating yourself techniques you have other then telling yourself to stop being a pussy and just do it?

I train out of habit now, because I feel like shit if I don't. When I was in your situation -- the 2-years-into-training one, not the getting-laid one, which I never had to miss training to do -- I was competing. Competition motivates training better than vanity or a desire for fitness. Enter a meet. That's how I did it.

This is a good question. I've been training for nearly 7 months and only missed my training for family/health reasons. Usually I feel very motivated, but there are times when I have shitty sessions and then it gets hard. My motivation is to get stronger, even if it is 1 lb at a time...

Default I'll Second That