starting strength gym

Thread: Leg structure problem

Default Leg structure problem

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi,

I love doing squats and getting good results too but i am facing problems.
    1) This problem is somewhat unique. I dont have perfectly straight legs. The part blow the knees are bent outwards. Like a bow. I have been quite active with sports so they haven't troubled me in anyway till now. But my doubt is will squats cause any problem with my knees in future because of the shape of my legs ?
    2) I feel slight pain and irritation on on inner side of the knees. And also, when i walk too much this thing occurs more. This is not very painful but still iam more mentally burdened. I have been doing squats for more than 3 months now.

Why are your legs conformed this way? Have you had them evaluated by someone that knows more about it than you?

If you'll allow me, Coach...

Sounds like you have a classic case of, well, bowleggedness. It can be caused by any number of factors...childhood ricket's disease is the most common, I think, but it can also be caused by nutritional deficiency in childhood or just plain having your legs develop that way.

I'm a case of the latter. I developed bow-leggedness (and an accompanying pigeon-toe) in my early teens. Nevertheless I was pretty active in sports and never had much of an issue.

In my later twenties I've developed aches and pains in my knees and ankles...but that's due more to abuse through years of tromping around in combat boots and pounding the pavement in running shoes, all on a pair of bowed-out legs that aren't designed well for taking that sort of thing. I can hardly run a mile anymore without my knees swelling up or an ankle giving out.