starting strength gym

Thread: Beginner needs some help/advice

Question Beginner needs some help/advice

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi,

I am a 32 year old endurance athlete looking to get strong. I began Starting Strenth about 6 weeks ago. I am 5'10" and was 163 lbs.

When I began I was only able to lift twice a week, Tues and Saturday, and on Thursday I would do bodyweight excersises and sprints at the park next to my work. 4 weeks in I got stuck on bench and squat, 185 and 220. My press and deadlift are steadily rising at 115 and 315. I dropped the weight on bench and squat by 10% and increased gradualy, but now I am stuck again at the same place.

Two big things changed this past week. First, I found another gym close to my work, so I started lifting 3 times a week as the actuall SS recommends. Second, I had only gained 2lbs in 5 weeks, so I added a half gallon of whole milk a day to my diet, I gained 7 lbs in 7 days, so I am now 172lbs.

So, should I drop all my weights by 10% or more to get used to this new 3 times/week schedule and bodyweight change? Should I go back to lifting 2 days a week with BW excersises and sprints on the third day? Should I lay off on my deadlifts, as they are much stronger than my squats and could be affecting them?

Any advice would be greatly appreaciated. Thanks

Its hard to give you an exact solution. As a general rule I am not in favor of constantly resetting weights in order to work back up. Sometimes it is necessary, but in reality I think it is more useful to give up less ground and try to fight through sticking points.

I would not do the bodyweight exercises or the sprints at this point. Do your event specific exercises (assuming run, bike, swim???) and lift for strength. The squats and deadlifts will do more for your speed than the sprints will and I'm not sure the bodyweight movements do anything for you.

Try this schedule:

Monday - Lift