starting strength gym

Thread: Program Trick

Default Program Trick

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Ok, the trick was just to get you in here to look at my program. Sorry.

I had some surgery last December and I'm ready to transition from the SS type of linear progression into a more intermediate program. Here's what I had in mind:

Sat: oly technique, Squats (volume), bench/oh press (volume), Deads, dips, prowler pushes
    Monday: oh squats, snatches, bench/oh press (light), conditioning
    Weds: Squats (intensity), bench/oh press (intensity), power cleans, Pullups, curls

It's pretty much a TM variation.

Any recommended tweaks? I am considering doing power cleans on Monday instead of Wednesday. Whatever snatches I do will be very light for a while since I'm just learning them.

I don't know jack shit about o-lifting, so I won't mention much about it. I don't see much wrong with your program, other than maybe leaving the dips for later. Try running this without the dips and then when it's working good, try to add them. Unless you know for sure you can take the dips.

Quote Originally Posted by Carlos Daniel View Post
    I don't know jack shit about o-lifting, so I won't mention much about it. I don't see much wrong with your program, other than maybe leaving the dips for later. Try running this without the dips and then when it's working good, try to add them. Unless you know for sure you can take the dips.
    I've been limiting the reps on dips to five at bodyweight (3 sets) because I don't want to screw up my shoulders. I think it's been good for my shoulders at that level. So yeah, I think you are basically right if I was treating those like a main lift it would be bad.

Quote Originally Posted by ColoWayno View Post