Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Stiff Bars and Power Cleans

Default Stiff Bars and Power Cleans

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hello all,

The general consensus for most lifts seems to go as such:

1) A stiff bar (larger diameter, less whip) is desirable for squat, bench, and overhead press.
    2) A bar with whip (28mm Oly bar) is desirable for snatch and clean & jerk. (Duh.)
    3) Deadlifts, especially heavy deadlifts, depend more on knurling aggressiveness than whip. Stiffness is mostly just preference and doesn't matter one way or another.

I couldn't turn up any similar guidance on power cleans. I'm pretty new to weightlifting in general (book on the way!), so I apologize if this is self-evident once you get into things more... but is having a stiff bar (e.g., this one) at all a disadvantage when doing power cleans?

Thanks

A power clean is nothing more than a full-clean caught in a half or quarter squat position. That's all there is to it. Any bar you would use for OLY lifts would be good for power cleans.

For the most part, most general bars are okay to use for power cleans.

A stiff bar will not get in your way for power cleans. If you get into weightlifting as a sport and are cleaning over 300 lbs, you will probably prefer a 28 mm bar. Until that time, just find a good bar that spins. An aggressive center knurling may bother your neck for cleans, but aside from that, whip will not be important.

As long as it spins halfway decently, as a beginner, you'll be fine. As you improve, if you ever get to use an Elieko (or other quality) bar, you'll definitely notice the difference.