starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 41% BF, Still on LP, need to Cut but Don't Know How

Default 41% BF, Still on LP, need to Cut but Don't Know How

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I spent about 15 minutes using Google's "site:" search function to examine these forums and several other reputable sites for my question, but I couldn't find anything that pertained to a lifter in my position.

6', 26 yrs old, ~41% bodyfat at around 330-335 lbs and dropping painfully slowly. My squat is up to 430, deadlift up to 445, and my presses are 165 and 205 for ohp and bench respectively.

I'm a very novice lifter, just 7-8 months of SS and nothing prior. All searches yield results for lifters in the 10-15% BF range cutting for meets, and mostly just water-weight stuff. I have more LP in me but my obesity is interfering - I can especially tell on the deadlifting.

My priority was initially getting as strong as I could, but I've surpassed my initial 400 lb lifting goal, and even though I'm convinced my LP isn't finished my priority is now to cut to 17-20% BF.

Questions:

Do I use the same cutting regimen as a lifter with lower bodyfat, or am I correct in my assumption that I can abuse myself a little more since my body has more fat to burn off?

If I just use a general cutting regimen, and run it for longer, can someone point me in the right direction that could get me started on designing a new or adapting my current program to a cut? I can't find anything that clearly explains from the ground up how to do it, only acronym references to other programs which don't turn up on searching.

Is it possible to reduce the volume but maintain the intensity of my compound lifts so I maintain the strength I've gained (as much as possible), but still continue advancing on my bench and ohp? Is this a feasible idea?