starting strength gym

Thread: Squat form check

Default Squat form check

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I'm a novice, 6'2" male maybe 160lbs. Squating 135 in this video.

I'm all for low squats, and I've read through SS so I have an idea about how it's supposed to look.

Question 1: Am I going TOO low? It feels fine when I'm doing it, but then I'm still at very low weights. I want to have proper form before I get to the heavies and from watching myself it looks like I might be in danger of hurting my knees from going too far past parallel.
    Question 2: I know the video is a little close-in, but is there anything else that jumps out at you that I should be doing differently?

Thanks so much for any advice!

You're a little deep. Cut off a couple inches. Get a video so we can see all of you. Need to see your setup, stance, etc. can't get much from here. What jumped out was that you didn't have a shirt on and that you're an inch or so taller than me but I outweigh you by 70lbs. You need to gain weight my friend

These do look too low to me. You have a good bit of forward knee slide (the more the knees slide forward, the deeper you have to go to get the hip joint below the top of the patella) and you seem to be losing lumbar extension in bottom (which will allow you to go deeper but is not a good thing when the load gets heavy).

I would suggest concentrate on shoving your knees out on the descent (if they go out, they can't go forward) and keeping lumbar region super tight in the bottom.

I'd hate to make a comment on a subpar video and be wrong. We really need a better video. How about visiting the sticky, then post us a new one.