starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Falling forwards in the squat.

Default Falling forwards in the squat.

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hello Mark et al.

I have been training for several years and as a powerlifter for around 3. I have competed several times as an unequiped junior (22 years old) in tested federations and done moderatly well, my best lifts being 215/160/280 @ 110.

Here are a few videos of the problem.

210x1 front view.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/justtttt.../7/a_pw6SXX1Qs

205x1 side view.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/justtttt...72/WIESgs3nEgU

205xf front view.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIMLh4Ol6Ds

I have tried so many things, front squats, high bar squats, hammering the hamstrings, lower back and glutes, direct hip work, looking down, looking up, slower descent.........

I have recently started training with some very competent powerlifters who have thrown a few ideas into the mix on what it could be but I thought you would be a good person to ask. With there advice I have cut depth by taking my squat stance out wider, with my narrow stance I am actually weaker if i attempt to cut the ROM short. The problem still persists, my legs straighten and I end up slowly good morninging the weight up which throws the weight onto my toes.

I feel my squat is really holding me back as I have been stuck at the low 200 mark for a while. I seem to have tried virtually everything reccomended to me.

Thanks for your time and if you cant help thanks anyway.

It's not so much that your chest is dropping, but rather that your ass is going back instead of up. Look at the side view and see what you think.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    your ass is going back instead of up.
    The above = loss of hamstring tension and kills hip drive, yes?