starting strength gym

Thread: Applying PP for the intermediate athlete

Default Applying PP for the intermediate athlete

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I have been lifting for around 4 years, but until I discovered starting strength I never really understand the difference between strength training and bodybuilding.
    I am currently 5?4?? (well, more like 5? 3??), 145lbs and have used SS to gain 15lbs of bodyweight and achieve an OHP 5RM=115, bench press 5RM 195lbs, squat 5RM=275, deadlift 5RM=325lbs and powerclean 1RM=155.
    I am training for grappling competition, both gi and no-gi My goal for my intermediate phase is to achieve the most strength and power per pound of bodyweight as I do compete in a sport with weight classes. However, I am still actively trying to gain weight and plan to compete at 154 lbs in the future.
    Practical Programming, as you make clear, is not a cookbook and gives a lot of room for interpretation. Can you please point out any recommendations, flaws, misunderstandings of PP, or alterations you would make to my hypothetical routine based off your experience?
    (note: sets x reps)
    Monday (volume)
    1. Squat 5x5
    2. Bench Press 5x5
    3. Power Clean 5x3
    Assistance:
    4. Weighted sit-ups 4x8
    5. Bodyweight hypers 2x20

Wednesday (recovery)
    1. Front Squat- 3x3
    2. Press- 5x5 (or 3x5?)
    3. Weighted Chins -5x5 (or 3x8?)
    Assistance:
    4. Weighted Sit-up 3x12
    5. Weighted Hyper 3x12

Friday (speed/power)
    1. Squat 10x2 65% 1 RM 60 sec rest
    2. Bench press 10x3 65% 1RM 60 sec rest
    3. Deadlifts -1x5 alternated weekly with 15x1 65% of 1RM 30 sec rest
    Assistance:
    4. Pullups using towel for grips: 3xfailure
    5. Dips 3xfailure alternated with 3x8

Concerns:
    1.Is there too much tonnage on Wednesday, should the 5x5s be switched to 3x5? I figure the best way is to just try it.