starting strength gym

Thread: Squat check (back tweak) and advice on switching to advanced novice

Default Squat check (back tweak) and advice on switching to advanced novice

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I have a long and storied history of lower back issues. They're mostly caused by sitting, but occasionally, lifting will aggravate something.

My back was a little sore this morning before I started lifting, but not so bad that I wanted to skip my workout. On my second work set of squats I could feel some stress/pain in my lower back as I was coming out of the hole on reps 3 and 4. I've long since learned not to screw around when it comes to back stuff, so I called it a day. I'm planning on just repeating the workout once my back settles down in a few days.

Anyway, is there anything about these squats that looks injurious, or was this just my already-sore back objecting to the stress that comes with even a properly-performed squat?

http://youtu.be/6DjU0vbgvFk

My second question is about whether it's time to switch to advanced novice on squats. Here are my stats:

Height: 6'
    Weight: 245 (up from 225 before SS)
    Squat: 280 x 5
    Deadlift: 305 x 5
    Bench Press: 170 x 5
    Press: 115 x 5
    Power Clean: 62.5 kg x 3
    Sleep: 8ish hours
    Food: 3300 kcal, ~200g protein (I only track macros every once in a while just to make sure I'm in the right ballpark)